Safari In The Mix

Next year, I think I will go on a African safari. As I love taking photos of animals, especially the big cats at the zoo, so I would love to capture these fine creatures in their real environment.

Looking to go for at least 24 days, see the Serengeti, and the Ngorongoro Crater, Victoria falls, Chobe national Park, the Okavango Delta, and much more.

The great migration would be a sight to see as well.

Will update my findings on what my trip will entail in the near future.

 

Update

Here is one excursion I really like and will keep for 1st decision

. From Nomad Adventures

Day -1

Leaving behind the city of Johannesburg, I travel through the North-West Province to the Botswana border. After completing border formalities I continue on the Trans-Kalahari highway to my overnight stop in the small village of Kang, the gateway to the Kalahari.

Day – 2

After breakfast I venture deeper into the Central Kalahari and my camp in the Ghanzi district, here I will spend time getting to know the fascinating San people. After lunch I will join the San guides for a guided walk that will introduce me to the many secrets of their survival in the Kalahari Desert. The nomadic San are hunter-gatherers that have passed down a rich knowledge of the plants and animals that play such an important part in their lifestyle. This evening I will get a first-hand experience of the San culture, well known for its rich traditions of song, dance and story-telling.

Day – 3

This morning I bid farewell to the San and make my way to Maun, gateway to the Okavango Delta. My guides will brief me this evening on what I will need for the upcoming Delta Excursions.

Day – 4

This morning I embark on my exploration of the Okavango Delta, one of Africa’s great wilderness areas. This unique and unusual ecosystem sees the annual flood waters of the Okavango River fan out into the sands of the Kalahari Basin. The seasonality of the flood waters lends the Delta its ever changing character. While water levels may fluctuate the tranquility of this wilderness area remains constant.

Day – 5

A full day is set aside to enjoy the activities on offer in the Delta, while the programme of activities is flexible to accommodate the seasonal changes in water levels, I will have the opportunity to enjoy amongst other activities traditional Mokoro rides and natures walks. The Okavango Delta is not only a natural wonder, but represents one of the last unspoilt wilderness areas in the world today.

Day 6

Leaving the Delta behind me this morning I make my way across the border into Namibia and travel to the Caprivi Strip, part of my day is spent travelling through wildlife areas and there is always the possibility of a lucky sighting. I stop overnight a short distance from the Botswana border as I prepare for an exciting day of activities in the Chobe National Park tomorrow.

Day 7

I will have my  breakfast in Namibia this morning before returning to Botswana and my camp on the banks of the Chobe River. Lunch will be served from the truck and the afternoon is set aside for exploring the Chobe National Park. I begin My exploration in 4×4 vehicle, which allows me an up close and personal experience with the many Elephants that frequent the Chobe riverfront in the afternoons. The day ends with a leisurely Boat Cruise and a meal served around the campfire.

Day 8

With the memories of my wildlife encounters firmly etched in my mind, I cross the border to Zimbabwe this morning and travel the short distance to Victoria Falls. Today I visit the spectacular Victoria Falls, also known by the local name of “Mosi-oa Tunya” (the smoke that thunders). While much of today is dedicated to viewing the mighty Zambezi River as it drops into the Batoka Gorge below, the bustling adventure town of Victoria Falls.  Tonight I enjoy an optional dinner out, My guide will assist me to decide on the many options available.

Day 9

With the many activities on offer in Victoria Falls, today is the perfect day for the adventure that most suits my style. Whether rafting the mighty Zambezi River or enjoying a flight over the Falls, this is my day to enjoy the many attractions on offer in Victoria Falls.

Day 10

Departing Victoria Falls this morning, I cross into Botswana and travel south to Francistown in central Botswana. I reach the overnight stop on the outskirts of Francistown in the late afternoon.

Day 11

Leaving early I continue to the border with South Africa and on to the city of Johannesburg. I am invited to join others for a traditional Braai tonight,  Many great tales are shared around the braai fires and tonight presents an opportunity to join fellow travellers in celebrating the many wonders of African travel. We arrive at Belvedere Estate in the late afternoon.

Day 12

Leaving the city of Johannesburg behind me I make my way east through the coalfields of Mpumalanga. Just after arrival at camp the Activity package offers the opportunity to enjoy a late afternoon Sundowner in the African Bush, after which the I will enjoy some local dancing and dinner around the campfire.

Day 13

This morning I enter the Kruger National Park for a full day of game viewing. My Activity Package offers me the opportunity to explore the park in open game viewing vehicle, giving me access to areas the truck can’t always go. The Kruger is home to many species of wildlife and offers the chance of sighting the famed Big-5. I return to camp in the early evening for dinner and a well-deserved rest.

Day 14

This morning I re-enter the Kruger National Park for a full-day of game viewing. My activity package offers me the opportunity to explore the park in open game viewing vehicle, giving you access to areas the truck can’t always go. We return in the mid-afternoon and end the day with a Sundowner in the African Bush

Day 15

As is customary when on Safari, I rise early this morning to enjoy a Guided Bush Walk after which my journey back to Johannesburg will commence. I arrive at Belvedere Estate in the late afternoon and all travellers are invited to join for a traditional Buffet Dinner tonight. Many great tales will be shared around the dinner table and tonight presents an opportunity to join fellow travellers in celebrating the many wonders of African travel.

Then fly home.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

